Creative Deals Over the Holidays

pokerhat-kvuong-01

Over the holidays, my friends and I celebrated our annual Christmas party with a party hat theme. I wanted to create something fun and playful so I decided to make a poker hat! I constructed the base of my hat using 4ply black mat board. Then, I illustrated the poker chips, playing cards, and dice on the computer. After printing my designs, I cut them out and laid them on my hat. The colours looked too flat and it didn’t feel festive enough. So, I started searching for some shiny Christmas wrapping paper and decorated my hat with bright colours and geometric shapes. Once I was satisfied with my compositions, I glued all the elements into place. This was an amusing project. I thoroughly enjoyed the process, especially finding a model – Jack Skellington to pose with my final product.

Leave a comment